Wait times are an average and provided for informational purposes only. What does this mean?

LewisGale Hospital Pulaski Announces Frist Humanitarian Award Winners

March 21, 2013

LewisGale Hospital Pulaski Announces Frist Humanitarian Award Winners

Pulaski, Virginia, March 2013 LewisGale Hospital Pulaski recently honored a physician, an employee and a volunteer with its prestigious 2012 Frist Humanitarian Award. This is the highest honor a person can receive at an HCA facility, the parent company of LewisGale Regional Health System.

The hospital presented awards to Diana Atkins, 2012 Frist Humanitarian Employee Award; June Quesenberry, 2012 Frist Humanitarian Volunteer Award, and Dr. Knotresha Stewart, 2012 Frist Humanitarian Physician Award.

“These winners have set a high standard for other healthcare professionals to achieve and should be commended for their efforts,” said Mark Nichols, CEO, LewisGale Hospital Pulaski. “They are a tremendous asset to our patients and the community and we are proud to recognize them with this prestigious award.”

The Frist Humanitarian Awards are given out annually at HCA-affiliated hospitals to an employee, volunteer, and physician who demonstrate extraordinary concern for the welfare and happiness of patients and their communities.  The winners from each hospital also have a chance to win the national Frist Humanitarian Award.

At the awards ceremony, Atkins, Quesenberry, and Stewart were individually recognized for their efforts along with the other nominees.

For over 23 years, Diana Atkins has been a dedicated employee at LewisGale Hospital Pulaski, most recently as the Facility Privacy Officer/Ethics & Compliance Officer.  She was nominated by her peers because of her giving spirit and compassion for serving the patients and the community.

June Quesenberry is one of the hospital’s most committed volunteers. She has graciously provided volunteer service to Pulaski since 1979. Quesenberry has dedicated her life to serving those around her and serving her church.

Dr. Stewart was recognized for always putting the needs of her patients first and for her service to the community. She has been involved in varies activities and ministries in her church and she has helped with the Community Health Fair at LewisGale Hospital Pulaski. She provided medical care, helped organize clinics, provided medical supplies and counseled women on a mission trip to poverty-stricken areas.

In addition to Atkins, there were 20 other nominees for the Frist Humanitarian Employee Award.  They included Norma Anderson, Teresa Arnold, Jessica Atkins, Marie Babb, Billy Cook, Anita Cox, Ellen Greene, Michelle Keesling, Susie Melvin, Etthan Miller, Marsha Myers, Wanda Reed, Christy Smith, Sam Spence, Shana Swecker, Debbie Thomas, Bessie Tickle, Debra Vaughn, Judy Weatherington and Helen Wolfe.

Nominees for the Frist Humanitarian Volunteer Award, in addition to June Quesenberry, included Inez Quesenberry, Wayne Ratcliffe and Joel Stuart.

Nominees for the Frist Humanitarian Physicians Award, in addition to Stewart, included Dr. Joseph Cacioppo, Dr. Yung Chan, Dr. Paul Ferraraccio, Dr. Karanita Ojomo, Dr. Ehikioya Osemobor and Dr. Kenneth Pendergrast.

“I’m honored to lead such a great group of people,” said Nichols, “They exemplify our mission statement by their continued commitment to the care and improvement of human life.”